Executive Leadership Team

Walter Crouch

President / Chief Executive Officer

Melisa Miller

Executive Vice President / Chief Operating Officer

Greg DeGenarro

Chief Financial Officer

President’s Office

Emma Clark

Administrative Executive


Sarah Dingus

Volunteer Specialist–Summer Program

Karen Frederick

Senior Director of Volunteers

Julie Knoblock

Volunteer Assistant–Year-Round Program

Jen Rickert

Volunteer Experience Coordinator


Sheryl Hartley

Director of Special Projects, Advancement

Dave Kelley

Senior Development Officer

Flossie McCaffrey

Administrative Assistant, Advancement

Lyssa Perry

Senior Director of Advancement

Jim Powell

Grants & Strategic Corporate Partnerships

Hart Teague

Office Manager

Information Technology

Skip Jones

Information Technology Manager


Fleet/Warehouse & Administrative Support

Marie Coffman

Ministries Assistant

Carl Cunningham

Fleet & Warehouse Manager

Brick Smith

Warehouse Coordinator

Home Repair

Erin Andrews-Sharer

Regional Coordinator

Adam Bean

Home Repair Coordinator / Safety & Quality Assurance Officer

Nicole Intagliata

Senior Director of Field Operations

Laura Kelly

Assistant Director of Field Operations

Caroline Nowak

Tri-Cities Home Repair Grant Compliance Coordinator

Kristina Rowles

Regional Coordinator

Zack Schoettes

Tri-Cities Home Repair Program Coordinator

New Build & Disaster Recovery

Chris Dolph

Project Manager

Julie Thompson

New Build Grant Compliance Coordinator

Zeb Volpe

Construction Superintendent

Human Resources

Kortney Bodge

Hiring Team Program Manager

Sam Lansinger

Hiring Team Program Manager

Gail Pond

Director of Human Resources


Joni Krise

Accounting Coordinator

Susan Miller

Senior Director of Accounting

Kristie Young

Account Manager

2020-2021 Fellowship Class

Jonesville, VA

  • Rachael Ewing
  • Carson Steidinger
  • Julia Stanganelli
  • Noah Gaylor

Johnson City, TN

  • Rose Chelednik (Tri-Cities Home Repair)
  • Cameron Perry (Liaison)
  • Brendan Roney (New Build)

ASP’s Board of Directors

Rev. Dr. Walter Crouch

  • President/CEO, Appalachia Service Project, Inc.
  • Johnson City, Tennessee

Mr. John O. Pearce, Chairperson

  • Partner, Ernst & Young LLP (Retired)
  • Nashville, Tennessee

Mr. Mike LaRock, Vice Chair

  • Vice President of Finance/Chief Financial Officer, Sysco Hampton Roads
  • Virginia Beach, Virginia

Mr. Ken Landers, Secretary

  • Assistant Vice President, SAIC (Retired)
  • Fairfax, Virginia

Mr. Stephen Dixon, Chair of Finance Committee

  • Senior Vice President/CRA Officer, Bank of Tennessee
  • Johnson City, Tennessee

Rev. Dr. Brian Brown

  • Senior Pastor, Woodlawn-Faith United Methodist Church
  • Alexandria, Virginia

Rev. Monica Burkert-Brist

  • Vicar, Holy Trinity Episcopal Church
  • Attorney, Wisconsin Department of Justice (Retired)
  • Madison, Wisconsin

Mr. John Crandall

  • Architect/Managing Director, NJ, VVA LLC (Retired)
  • Mendham, New Jersey

Mr. Bill Culbertson

  • Real Estate Executive, William E. Culbertson Real Estate
  • Fairfax, Virginia

Mr. Charles W. “Chuck” Ellis

  • Executive VP, Time Warner Cable (Retired)
  • Fairfield, Connecticut

Rev. Brian Erickson

  • Senior Pastor, Trinity United Methodist Church
  • Homewood, Alabama

Dr. Marcia Hawkins

  • President, Union College
  • Barbourville, Kentucky

Mr. Michael Hodge

  • General Contractor/Owner, Hodge Construction
  • Iowa City, Iowa

Ms. Hattie Koher

  • Director of Youth Ministry, First United Methodist Church of LaGrange
  • LaGrange Park, IL

Mr. Mark McIntyre

  • Partner / Co-Founder, Merchant McIntyre Associates, LLC
  • Washington, District of Columbia

Ms. Emily Miller

  • Assistant/Development Manager — Individual Giving, Marketing EDGE
  • New York, New York

Ms. Elizabeth Moore

  • Attorney / Partner, Sherrard Roe Voigt & Harbison, PLC
  • Nashville, Tennessee

Ms. Meg Robertson

  • Non-Profit Consultant, Macvian Partners
  • Stanley, North Carolina

Mr. James Ronca

  • Senior Vice President, Suntrust
  • Atlanta, Georgia

Ms. Angela Struebing

  • Senior Director of Marketing, Mainstreet Card Acquisition and Customer Experience, Capital One
  • Arlington, Virginia

Board Members Emeriti

Dr. Maurlea Babb

  • Family Therapist
  • Wheaton, Illinois

The Rev. Rosemary Brown

  • United Methodist Clergy
  • Nashville, Tennessee

Rev. John “Jack” W. Gilbert, Jr.

  • Major Gifts, Trust For Public Land (Retired)
  • Atlanta, Georgia

The Rev. Dr. F. Stuart Gulley

  • President, Woodward Academy
  • Atlanta, Georgia

Mr. David Lollis

  • FAHE (Retired)
  • Lexington, Kentucky

The Rev. Dr. George Morris

  • United Methodist Clergy (Retired)
  • Peoria, Illinois

Rev. Jim Robinson

  • United Methodist Clergy (Retired)
  • Nashville, Tennessee

ASP’s Community Advisory Council

The ASP Community Advisory Council (CAC) empowers invested local leaders to inform ASP’s short- and long-term engagement in Central Appalachia, by providing strategic feedback and identifying ASP’s role in regional community development. The CAC regularly provides counsel and encouragement to ASP as it strives to be a partnership-focused organization in the communities it servesIf you are interested in becoming a Council member, or would like to refer somebody, please contact us at CAC@asphome.org

Rev Brooke Atchley, Director of Clinch Mountain District Community Ministry & Elk Garden School Community Ministries

John Wyatt, Storyteller, Greenbrier County, WV

Steve Baldwin, Director of Development for City of Johnson City, TN (Retired)

Nell Bovender, Executive Director of Rutherford Housing Partnership, Rutherford County, NC (Retired)

Alice Whitaker, Director of Lotts Creek Community School, Knott County, KY

Chris Doll, Assistant Director of Housing Alliance, Hazard, KY

Pete Broersma, SWAP Harlan Location Coordinator, Harlan County, KY

Tom Harrison, Hancock County Mayor, Sneedville, TN

Dave Lumsden, Meadow River Valley Association, Greenbrier County, WV

Bill Bird, Facility Manager at Trade Community School, Trade, TN

Christy Laxton, Executive Director of Wyoming County Economic Development Authority, Wyoming County, WV
Bonnie MacDonald, Director of Leadership Formation & Ministry Staff, West Virginia UMC Conference
Bryan Toll, Director of Christ’s Hands, Harlan KY

Errol Randle, Community Outreach Specialist with the WV Department of Military Affairs and WV Department of Education

Ron and Jill Carson, Co-Founders of Appalachian African American Cultural Center in Pennington Gap, VA